Men's 5000 m - Speed Skating
Sapporo 1972 Winter Olympics

1972 Sorry, your browser does not support inline SVG . Speed Skating - Men's 5000 m in the Olympics
Men's 5000 m 1972
Ard SchenkNED7.23,61
Roar GrønvoldNOR7.28,18
Sten StensenNOR7.33,39
4. Göran ClaessonSWE7.36,17
5. Willy OlsenNOR7.36,47
6. Cornelis VerkerkNED7.39,17
7. Valery LavrushkinURS7.39,26
8. Jan BolsNED7.39,40
9. Gerhard ZimmermannFRG7.41,16
10. Daniel CarrollUSA7.44,72
11. Kimmo KoskinenFIN7.45,15
12. Johnny HöglinSWE7.45,68
13. Kiyomi ItoJPN7.45,96
14. Örjan SandlerSWE7.47,92
15. Giancarlo GloderITA7.55,77
16. Osamu NaitoJPN7.56,97
17. Bruno ToniolliITA7.57,30
18. Jouko SalakkaFIN7.57,42
19. Kevin SiroisCAN8.02,66
20. Charles GilmoreUSA8.03,04
21. Clark KingUSA8.07,20
22. David HamptonGBR8.07,85
23. Colin CoatesAUS8.09,35
24. Richard TourneFRA8.11,52
25. Andrew BarronCAN8.11,84
26. John BlewittGBR8.16,75
27. Herbert SchwarzFRG8.26,03
28. Lobsanglhagv TsendMGL8.30,47

Men's 5000 m - Speed Skating - Sapporo 1972 Winter Olympics

Event Format: Skaters raced against the clock although they raced in pairs on separate lanes on an oval rink (inner and outer lanes). Skaters had to change lanes in the back straightaway of each lap in order to skate an equal distance. The skater on the outer lane had the right of way and the skater leaving the inner lane should avoid collision. The Olympic gold medal winner was the athlete with the fastest time for the race.

Event facts: Men's 5000 m competition was held at the Makomanai Speed Skating Rink and 28 athletes participated in the event.

These results for Men's 5000 m - Sapporo 1972 Winter Olympics - are based on the official Olympic reports and the Olympian Database
English flagDanish flag

Facts & Information

All-time Medal Table All-time Medal Table Olympic Games

Olympic Sports Database Olympic Sports

Nations in the Olympics
Nations in the Olympics

Future Olympics Future Olympics
Copyright & Disclaimer    Sportsencyclo    Privacy policy