Men's 500 m - Speed Skating
Innsbruck 1976 Winter Olympics

1976 Sorry, your browser does not support inline SVG . Speed Skating - Men's 500 m in the Olympics
Men's 500 m 1976
Yevgeny KulikovURS39,17OR
Valery MuratovURS39,25
Daniel ImmerfallUSA39,54
4. Mats WallbergSWE39,56
5. Peter MuellerUSA39,57
6. Jan BazenNED39,78
6. Arnulf SundeNOR39,78
8. Andrey MalikovURS39,85
9. Oloph GranathSWE39,93
10. James ChapinUSA40,09
11. Masaki SuzukiJPN40,22
11. Thomas OverendCAN40,22
13. Johan GranathSWE40,25
14. Gaetan BoucherCAN40,53
15. Pertti NiittylläFIN40,65
16. Norio HirateJPN40,85
16. Archibald MarshallGBR40,85
18. Mikio OyamaJPN40,90
19. Hans van HeldenFRA40,91
19. Emmanuel MichonFRA40,91
21. Kai Arne StenshjemmetNOR40,94
22. Lee Young-haKOR41,08
23. Bruno ToniolliITA41,44
24. Harald ÖhmeGDR41,54
25. Colin CoatesAUS41,77
26. Berend SchabusAUT42,33
27. Heinz SteinbergerAUT43,28
28. Jan Egil StorholtNOR1.18,00
Horst FreeseFRGdnf

Men's 500 m - Speed Skating - Innsbruck 1976 Winter Olympics

Event Format: Skaters raced against the clock although they raced in pairs on separate lanes on an oval rink (inner and outer lanes). Skaters had to change lanes in the back straightaway of each lap in order to skate an equal distance. The skater on the outer lane had the right of way and the skater leaving the inner lane should avoid collision. The Olympic gold medal winner was the athlete with the fastest time for the race.

Event facts: Men's 500 m competition was held at the Olympiaeisschnelllaufbahn and 29 athletes participated in the event.

These results for Men's 500 m - Innsbruck 1976 Winter Olympics - are based on the official Olympic reports and the Olympian Database
English flagDanish flag

Facts & Information

All-time Medal Table All-time Medal Table Olympic Games

Olympic Sports Database Olympic Sports

Nations in the Olympics
Nations in the Olympics

Future Olympics Future Olympics
Copyright & Disclaimer    Sportsencyclo    Privacy policy